SOFA banner

  IAU Standards of Fundamental Astronomy Board

  Current Membership

  • John Bangert — United States Naval Observatory (retired)
  • Steven Bell — Her Majesty's Nautical Almanac Office (Webmaster)
  • Nicole Capitaine — Paris Observatory
  • Mickaël Gastineau — Paris Observatory, IMCCE
  • Catherine Hohenkerk — Her Majesty's Nautical Almanac Office (Chair, retired)
  • Li Jinling — Shanghai Astronomical Observatory
  • Brian Luzum — United States Naval Observatory (IERS)
  • Zinovy Malkin — Pulkovo Observatory, St Petersburg
  • Jeffrey Percival — University of Wisconsin
  • Wendy Puatua — United States Naval Observatory
  • Scott Ransom — National Radio Astronomy Observatory
  • Nick Stamatakos — United States Naval Observatory
  • Patrick Wallace — RAL Space (retired)
  • Toni Wilmot — Her Majesty's Nautical Almanac Office (HMNAO Trainee)

  Past Members

  • Wim Brouw — University of Groningen
  • Mark Calabretta — Australia Telescope National Facility
  • William Folkner — Jet Propulsion Laboratory
  • Anne-Marie Gontier — Paris Observatory
  • George Hobbs — Australia Telescope National Facility
  • George Kaplan — United States Naval Observatory
  • Dennis McCarthy — United States Naval Observatory
  • Skip Newhall — Jet Propulsion Laboratory
  • Jin Wen-Jing— Shanghai Astronomical Observatory

The e-mail address for the SOFA Board Chair is


The SOFA Board gratefully acknowledges the support it receives from the institutions and funding bodies of its members. The Board also acknowledges the provision of this web site by HM Nautical Almanac Office (HMNAO), part of the UK Hydrographic Office.

@ IAU SOFA Center / @ Webmaster
Copyright © 2001-2020 International Astronomical Union
Last modified: 2020 July 21